Manitoba Female Chiefs Honored at Assembly

Manitoba Female Chiefs Honored at Assembly

Posted By Rhonda Head July 22nd, 2017 Last Updated on: July 22nd, 2017

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs had their Annual General Assembly in northern Manitoba at Nelson House, Manitoba on July 18-20, 2017.  A growing number of female leadership has been steadily on the rise.  

The leaders were given recognition in front of the assembly.  The women were presented with a red shawl with the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs logo. 

The following female chiefs were present: 

Pimicikamak Cree Nation Chief Cathy Merrick, Marcel Colomb Chief Priscilla Colomb, Oo-Chi-Chak Konispi Chief Stephanie Blackbird, Tataskwayak Chief Doreen Spence, Pine Creek Chief Karen Batson, War Lake Chief Betsy Kennedy, and Canupawakpa Chief Viola Eastman.

Missing from photo:  Swan Lake Chief Francine Meeches, Poplar River First Nation Vera Mitchell and Opaskwayak Cree Nation Vice-Chief Jennifer Flett.

Manitoba has 63 First Nation communities. 

Home » Blog » Manitoba Female Chiefs Honored at Assembly

TAGGED:    canada    manitoba    women leaders  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free Email Series: What to Expect at Your First Pow Wow