Did Your Favorite Win? Native American 40 Under 40

Posted By Toyacoyah Brown September 18th, 2014 Last Updated on: September 18th, 2014

The National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development (NCAIED) recently announced their 2014 “Native American 40 Under 40″ award recipients. This prestigious award recognizes 40 emerging American Indian leaders from across Indian Country who have demonstrated leadership, initiative, and dedication and made significant contributions in business and/or in their community.

Recognize anyone in the list?

Justin Tarbell – St. Regis Mohawk Tribe
Steve Bodmer – Edisto Natchez-Kusso Indian Tribe of South Carolina
Courtney Monteiro – Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah)
Amber Fite-Morgan – Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma
Clementine Bordeaux – Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Star Yellowfish – United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians of Oklahoma
Shoni Schimmel – Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
Lindsay Earls – Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma
Christina Finsel – Osage Nation
Leotis McCormack – Nez Perce Tribe
Kelly Myers – Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma
Richard Peterson – Tlingit and Haida
Kimberly Jorgensen – Inupiaq
Jill Fox – Chickasaw Nation
Carri Jones – Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
Frank Waln – Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Jeffrey Grubbe – Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians
Andy Langston – Muscogee (Creek) Nation
Peter Hahn – Seminole Tribe of Florida
Justin Bennett – Cayuga Nation
Paulette Jordan – Couer D’Alene Tribe
Pete Coser, Jr. – Muscogee (Creek) Nation
Wizpian Little Elk – Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Derrick Lente – Isleta Pueblo/Sandia Pueblo
Winslow Mexico – Forest County Potawatomi
Sarah Eagle Heart – Oglala Sioux Tribe
Haven Harris – Nome Eskimo Community
Reid Milanovich – Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians
Charles “Chuck” Hoskin, Jr. – Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma
Alyssa Macy – Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs
Florence Clairmont – Yankton Sioux Tribe
Miriam Aarons – Inupiaq
April Tinhorn – Navajo Nation /Hualapai Tribe
Dennis Welsh – Colorado River Indian Tribes
Irene Dundas – Tlingit
Cody Desautel – Confederated Tribes of the Colville Indian Reservation
Joshua Butler – Navajo Nation
Timothy Ballew – Lummi Nation
William Cornelius – Oneida Nation of Wisconsin
Sedelta Oosahwee – Mandan, Hidatsa, & Arikara Nation

Congratulations to all the recipients! You're making your communities proud!

The awards will be presented at NCAIED’s 39th Annual Indian Progress In Business Awards Gala (INPRO) being held at RES Wisconsin October 8th at the Potawatomi Hotel & Casino. If you'd like to attend please visit NCAIED.org to register.

Home » Native American Articles » Native American Culture » Did Your Favorite Win? Native American 40 Under 40

About Toyacoyah Brown

Toyacoyah Brown is an enrolled member of the Comanche Nation, currently living in Chicago. She received her B.A. in Journalism from the University of Oklahoma and an M.A. in Media Studies from the University of Texas at Austin. When she's not scouring the Internet for fun things to share with PowWows.com readers you can find her digging for vinyl in her local record store or curling up with a good book.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Free Email Series: What to Expect at Your First Pow Wow